Laser Physicists, Including Third Woman Ever, Win Physics Nobel

Your daily selection of the latest science news!

According to (This article and its images were originally posted on Quanta Magazine October 2, 2018 at 07:11AM.)

The Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded this morning to three researchers for advances in laser physics. Arthur Ashkin, who spent his career at Bell Laboratories, took half of the prize for inventing “optical tweezers,” while Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland split the other half for their work on high-intensity ultra-short laser pulses.

Strickland became the first woman to be awarded a Nobel Prize in Physics since Maria Goeppert-Mayer in 1963, for her “discoveries concerning nuclear shell structure,” and only the third ever (the other award went to Marie Curie in 1903). “We need to celebrate women physicists because we’re out there,” said Strickland today after being notified of the award, “and maybe in time it will move forward. I’m honored to be one of those women.”

+ Got any news, tips or want to contact us directly? Feel free to email us:

To see more posts like these; please subscribe to our newsletter. By entering a valid email, you’ll receive top trending reports delivered to your inbox.


This article and images were originally posted on [Quanta Magazine] October 2, 2018 at 07:11AM. Credit to the original author and Quanta Magazine | ESIST.T>G>S Recommended Articles Of The Day.





Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.